Albuqueruqe, N.M. – 2017 was another successful season in the Sun Country and it wasn’t short of any drama with the Player of the Year point races coming down to the last few events. In the Men’s Player of the Year race, Ryo Harada captured the top spot with a medalist finish at the 2018 U.S. Amateur Four-Ball Qualifier, which helped him clinch the award. Harada also claimed victories in the SCAGA Match Play and the SCAGA Four-Ball to cap off a great 2017 campaign.

Jennifer Delgadillo had some drama of her own in the final event of the SCAGA Season with the Women’s Player of the Year crown on the line. Delgadillo fired rounds of 81-76 to win the NM-WT Women’s Mid-Amateur Championship by 16 strokes, which cemented her as the 2017 Women’s POY. In conjunction with her Mid-Amateur victory she finished runner-up in the Spring Stroke Play, won the SCAGA Four-Ball, was medalist at the 2018 U.S. Amateur Women’s Four Ball Qualifier, and had a sixth place finish at the NM-WT Women’s Amateur.

Last but not least, our Senior Player of the Year was the tightest race. Anton Salome ended up capturing the crown after winning the NM-WT Mid-Amateur Championship in a playoff that catapulted him into the top spot by 40 points. Salome’s Mid-Am victory concluded a strong showing this season as he captured wins in the Senior Spring Stroke Play and Senior Match Play, along with runner-up finishes at the Wimberly Cup and the SCAGA Team Championship. With his stellar play this season, Salome also earned a spot on the 2017 SCAGA Challenge Cup Team.

Congratulations to Ryo Harada, Jennifer Delgadillo, and Anton Salome on their fantastic play this season in order to capture the SCAGA Player of the Year Awards. We look forward to seeing everyone again next season when we kick off the 2018 campaign in Las Cruces at our SCAGA Spring Stroke Play.